top of page
  • Writer's pictureHinton Magazine

Echoes of Time: Combining space opera, mystery and adventure 2 in sci-fi series delights as readers return to the Wanderer Universe.

With the publication of book 2 in James Murdo’s The Tapache’s Promise Trilogy, the story picks up 70 years on from the first instalment. With the Administration still reigning supreme Diyan searches, Yena waits, Paran explores. But what of Kera?

Published on 27th September 2022, Echoes of Time is the eagerly awaited second instalment of The Tapache’s Promise Trilogy by sci-fi novelist, James Murdo.

Offering an epic sci-fi mash up brimming with intriguing elements akin to those stand out moments in the likes of Altered Carbon, Star Trek and The Hunger Games, Echoes of Time is a truly immersive read that makes this middle instalment more persuasive than the first.

With themes including friendship (despite all of what has gone before, and the otherworldliness of alien life) book two picks up seventy years on from Echoes of Gravity and uses the foundations laid down in book one to great effect, enabling the reader to ‘hit the ground running’.

Reinforcing an already growing reputation as a major player when it comes to hard sci-fi (with all the detail) and space opera (with all the drama), Murdo delivers an unputdownable second instalment, all of which is told with literary gusto and has the author’s passion for his subject leaping from every page.


Splintered minds. A hidden city. Alien evolution directed by thought alone.

Seventy years have passed since Kera unlocked the secrets of the dummy node, and the Administration reigns supreme. But all is not as it seems. Half-minds satisfy the Administration’s ruling class, and now the true leader wants to emerge from the shadows.

Meanwhile, on the desolate plains of Barrenscape, an attempt to trap the Breaker goes awry, unveiling an ancient structure from a time so distant that even the Vaesians have forgotten. The Breaker’s lair may have been found, but it’s not what anyone expected.

Will the burgeoning power of the Administration be enough to combat the enemy lurking outside Fadin? Will the true nature of the Source finally be revealed?

Diyan searches. Yena waits. Paran explores. What of Kera?

The author says:

“Echoes of Time is an epic space opera, adventure and mystery bundle. With the story taking place over three books, this is book two.

Central to the plot are the bonds of friendship of four Roranians, as well as the theme of the ‘alienness’ of alien life, their potentially incomprehensive motives, and the strangeness that might exist also permeate the trilogy, and whilst completely immersing the reader, there are anchor points they can relate to.”

Published by Cranthorpe Millner Publishers, Echoes of Time (ISBN: 978-1-80378-073-3) is published on 27th September 2022 and is available in paperback (£10.99) and Kindle format. Waterstones | Foyles | Amazon | Cranthorpe Millner


bottom of page